Nominate an Honorary Chair

The Dublin Irish Festival is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Festival!

Since celebrating its 10th Anniversary, the Dublin Irish Festival has chosen an Honorary Chair to serve as the ceremonial leader of Dublin’s signature event. Nominations are due by FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2018

Selection Criteria

Selection criteria for the Honorary Chair include:

  • Must be a financial supporter of the Dublin Irish Festival*
  • Must be of Irish heritage and/or supporter of Irish culture and the Festival
  • Must be a contributor to the Dublin community
  • Must be a recognized Dublin and/or Central Ohio community leader
  • Must attend the Dublin Irish Festival
  • May not be a current elected official or running for office
    * Via cash sponsorship, in-kind sponsorship or a VIP Club member


  • Serve on selection committee for future Honorary Chairs
  • Serve on Sponsorship Committee
  • Lend reputation, name and face to fund development efforts
  • Act as an ambassador at the Emerald Club


Before the Festival

  • Attend November Annual Meeting, as well as April and July Committee Meetings
  • Throw out first pitch at annual Columbus Clippers Irish Heritage Night
  • Represent the Festival at Zoofari in June
  • Start the 5K Race
  • Attend the Honorary Chair Festival Kick-off Dinner

During the Festival

  • Promotional appearances
  • Media interviews
  • Honorary Chair Reception and Festival Dedication
  • VIP Club visits throughout the weekend
  • Judge Wee Folk contests
  • Closing Ceremony/Festival Finale

Following the Festival

  • Attend Annual Meeting & Semi Annual Committee Meetings

In Appreciation

  • Golf shirts for Chair and family to wear weekend of the event
  • Package of DIF items such as T-shirts, tickets, CDs and invitations
  • Commemorative photos of weekend activities
  • Honorary Chair corporate family day on Sunday – up to 500 complimentary corporate tickets
Fill out my online form.

Honorary Chairs

2018 Pat and Molly Byrne, Byrne’s Pub
2017 Kitty Munger, Wendy’s Franchise Association
2016 Ed Gaughan, The County Mayo Corporation
2015 Pete Fingerhut, Columbus Zoo & Aquarium
2014 Brian Ferrier, Giant Eagle
2013 Frank Slavik, Tim Hortons
2012 Scott White, IGS Energy
2011 Jim and Leslie Finn, Festival Board
2010 Randy Hicks, Bob Evans
2009 Frank Willson, WBNS 10TV
2008 John Fleming, Superior Beverage Group
2007 Dan Sullivan, the Memorial Tournament
2006 Cheryl Herbert, Dublin Methodist Hospital
2005 Tom Thon, ClearChannel Columbus Radio Group
2004 Mike Kehoe, AT&T Ohio
2003 Dave D’Antoni, Ashland Chemical
2002 Don Hunter, Duke Realty Corporation
2001 Ron Geese, Continental Office Environments
2000 Mike Kelty, The Scotts Company
1999 Terry Tindel, Verizon Wireless
1998 Terry O’Connell, Time Warner Cable
1997 Denny Lynch, Wendy’s International